Hospital chair “bed” not my idea of “time away”

I talk about my kids a lot. And to the average person you would often interpret this talking as complaining. And yes, ok, sometimes it is but more often I feel that I am educating the world about what parenthood is really about. I’m brutally honest. There’s no sugar coating here, parenthood does NOT look like those Fisher Price commercials with that cute baby toddling around……well maybe for about 30 seconds of the day……Until they find the diaper cream and coat themselves or the toothpaste or the yogurt, anything creamy here, you get the picture? But let me get one thing clear, my kids drive me crazy, yes BUT I love them more than anything in the world.  And I would LOVE some time away from the chaos but this is not what I had in mind……

Our room for 5 days.....as Vi rolled out....Dex rolled in......Oh and there's the chair "bed" in the background...

Our room for 5 days…..as Vi rolled out….Dex rolled in……Oh and there’s the chair “bed” in the background…

I wasn’t aware that I could hold my breath, not eat or drink or pee for hours, not sleep for days, until two, yes, TWO of my 3 children were hospitalized within 48 hours of one another. Sweet, two year old Miss Vi and spunky, five year old Dex.  My kids have been sick over the years, yes, but this was a reality check into the lives of what parents with seriously ill children go through.  You are all amazing.  Period.  After we were unable to control the vomiting for 48 hours BOTH ended up admitted with IV’s and special nausea medication (ondansetron I LOVE YOU). Lucky (?) for us Violet was discharged at 3pm on the Friday and Dexter was admitted Saturday morning. Ever heard of Rotavirus? Yeah, we hadn’t either, WE KNOW NOW. GET YOUR KIDS IMMUNIZED PEOPLE. I am extremely pro for vaccinations. Wonder why? Check out “The Dirt” and you’ll get it.

Exhibit A of why I recommend the Rotavirus vaccine.  Sweet Vi, clutching her stickers for being such a champ after the IV.  Unable to hold head up but not letting those stickers go!

Exhibit A of why I recommend the Rotavirus vaccine. Sweet Vi, clutching her stickers for being such a champ after the IV. Unable to hold head up but not letting those stickers go!

After this incident (and not sleeping for 5 days AND losing 8 pounds, YAY?  Don’t get too excited, they’re back…), I honestly don’t think I complained about the kids for weeks. When Violet was sick she didn’t walk for 2 days, Dexter it was 3 days. The sight of them tearing my house up afterward was so soothing (REALLY) and made me so happy that I had nothing to say. ME, had ZERO to say! Nothing like a traumatizing experience to put things in perspective. Whenever I get ready to complain now I think….Are they ill? Disabled? Get into BAD trouble? Homely? Boring? No. Then quit your bitchin, you’ve got it made.

Every day…hug them close, smell their hair, tickle their tummy, kiss their fingers, it could change in the blink of an eye.

Trying to cheer Dex up...how we spent our Father's Day and Wedding Anniversary of 2013...

Trying to cheer Dex up…how we spent our Father’s Day and Wedding Anniversary of 2013…

One response to “Hospital chair “bed” not my idea of “time away”

  1. This was an awful time. And you are a fabulous mom Crystal! It is so true that it’s times like these that put life into perspective. I’m so glad the trio are all healthy and happy again. Life is good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

