I hope whoever discovered Tylenol and Advil received ALOT of awards….

Acetaminophen (Tylenol), Ibuprofen (Advil) & Gripe Water

 These three things are #1 on my list of items new parents need in their house.  They’re maybe not something you’ll use every day BUT guess when you’re going to need it?  Yes, that’s right, at 2am when your baby spikes a fever.  So plan ahead, get them now.  Directly after diapers and wipes these are a must in my books.  You can get a version of Tylenol and Advil for an infant that comes as a liquid with a convenient eye dropper doser.  I am so happy I had babies in the 21st century!!

Aren't my teeth cute? Believe me I wasn't smiling when they were coming through......ADVIL

What do you do when you have a headache?  Fever?  Your stomach hurts?   Do you take something for it or just suffer through the pain?  Uh huh, yah, that’s what I thought.  So why should you force your kids to suffer?  What did they ever do to you?  Well other than tear you apart entering this world and keep you up all night?  Right.  Never mind.  Let’s move on.  These three things will not harm your child as long as you follow the directions properly.  IN FACT, it will ease their trouble and yours.  Of course you shouldn’t be giving your kids acetaminophen and ibuprofen every time they frown BUT gripe water can be a life saver for a colicky baby.  And that you can use all the time!  I went through 6 bottles by the time my twins were 4 months old!  What is gripe water?  Well, it’s basically tums for babies.  My favourite brand is Kolik and it seems to work better than the noname brands, well for my kids anyway.  No idea why, but I didn’t care, it’s cheap anyway!

Here’s another tidbit too.  Acetaminophen and Ibuprofen are completely different drugs.  They work on completely different pathways (here’s the super nerdy scientist coming out in me, check The Dirt, and yes I do know my shit) so this means if one does not work you can give your child the other one too.  If they just had Tylenol an hour ago and they still have a fever, go ahead and try some Advil.   Just make sure to keep track of which drug they had at what time. WRITE IT DOWN.  The reason being because Tylenol is every 4 hours and Advil is every 6 hours.  Let’s face it your memory is not the best at 3am!  It’s a fact, your kids and YOU too, can have Tylenol and Advil at the same time IF need be.  You have no idea how many phone calls I’ve fielded over this fact.

Poor Dexter. Strept throat + antibiotics + advil = zonked.

*Please note* DO NOT under any circumstances give your child ASA (Aspirin), DO NOT GIVE ASA (Aspirin).  It is very bad for infants and children under 16 years of age and can cause Reye’s Syndrome.

Leave a Reply

