Toddlers like control. So why not give them some “controlled independence”?

You’ve taken the plunge.  You have decided to have another baby!  Wow!  Such excitement……well that is until you’re 6 months pregnant, tired as hell and your current toddler is hanging off your leg yelling, I’m hungry, I’m hungry.  I don’t want an apple I want french fries!!!!  WAAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!

OMG, WHAT was I thinking?!??!  Calm down.  There’s no going back now so you might as well drive on.  Get control of yourself AND your toddler.  HA!  Right.  Fat chance of that.  The fact of the matter is, that people do not realize how smart or just how capable your children are.  Remember how the little devil turned on the computer the other day while you were in the other room?  Or you found him eating chocolate chips from the cupboard?  Uh huh.  That’s just the beginning.  Toddlers like control.  So why not give them some “controlled independence”?

Train Your Toddler

Believe me.  Now, obviously this is within reason.  If your older child is only 12 months, then they’re not going to be getting their own snack.  I realize common sense isn’t so common anymore but don’t make me smack you over the head.  Anyway, when I was 5 months pregnant with my twins I decided it was time to train my 2 ½ year old.  People thought I was completely bonkers.  You what?!?  You taught him how to open the fridge?!?  Uh, YAH!

By the time the twins arrived my toddler could get a yogurt out of the fridge, a spoon from HIS cupboard and sit down and eat it all by himself.  Yes, you also read that right, HIS cupboard.  I’m not going to take the claim for this fabulous idea.  My sister is a smart lady.  When her girls were toddlers she gave them their own cupboard and a bottom shelf in the fridge.  Their cupboard had plastic spoons along with friendly kid’s snacks like apple sauce, fruit cups, granola bars, snack size crackers, etc.  The fridge had yogurt, drinking boxes and sippy’s ready with milk/water.  I thought it was a fantastic idea and so I did the same!  Now along with this you will also need some ground rules.  Set them straight, drinks at the table, etc, etc.  The same rules as before just make sure to reinforce those or you may be cleaning yogurt out of his mattress……….and no that didn’t happen to me but I could see it!!!  And remember, you’re not doing this because you are lazy, you just don’t like whiny kids.  Who does??  I need a snack, I need a drink, I’m thirsty, I’m hungry……..

Dexter exercising his "independence". I was 6 months pregnant with Team Scream when this was taken

Leave a Reply

